University of South Australia

The University of South Australia (UniSA) is a public university in the Australian state of South Australia. It was formed in 1991 with the merger of the South Australian Institute of Technology and Colleges of Advanced Education. The legislation to establish and name the new University of South Australia was introduced in 1990 by the Hon Mike Rann MP, Minister of Employment and Further Education. With more than 33,000 students, the university is South Australia's largest; more than 10,000 students are international, with almost half studying in Adelaide and the remainder offshore.

UniSA is a globally-focused, locally-engaged institution established on the dual principles of equity and excellence.

With more than 33,000 students, the university is South Australia’s largest and was the youngest Australian institution to be named in the top 50 of 2013 The Times Higher Education’s Top 100 global universities aged under 50.

Faculties in UniSA,

Health Sciences - Health Sciences, Nursing and Midwifery, Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, Population Health.

Business and Law - Commerce, Law, Management, Marketing.

Education, Arts and Social Sciences - Art, Architecture and Design, Communication, International Studies and Languages, Education, Psychology, Social Work and Social Policy, David Unaipon College of Indigenous Education and Research.

IT, Engineering and the Environment - Engineering, Information Technology & Mathematical Sciences, Natural and Built Environments

State – South Australia

City - Adelaide

Climate – 15–16°C

Living cost


More information regarding the living costs