Swinburne University

Swinburne University (often simply referred to as Swinburne) is an Australian public university of technology based in Melbourne, Victoria. Swinburne was founded in 1908 by the Honorable George Swinburne as the Eastern Suburbs Technical College. Its foundation campus is located in Hawthorn, a suburb of Melbourne which is located 7.5km from the Melbourne central business district.

In its first year, it enrolled 80 students in subjects including carpentry, plumbing and gas fitting. Today, Swinburne operates five campuses in two countries and has an enrolment of 60,000 students across vocational, undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

In addition to its main Hawthorn campus, Swinburne has campuses in the Melbourne metropolitan area at Prahran, Wantirna and Croydon. Swinburne also has a branch campus in Sarawak, Malaysia.

Internationally, Swinburne is ranked among the top 400 universities in the world by the Academic Ranking of World Universities.

Swinburne encompasses three "super faculties", each of which demeanor both teaching and research.

Science, Engineering and Technology - The Faculty of Engineering and Industrial Sciences comprises the School of Science, the School of Engineering and the School of Software and Electrical Engineering and associated research centers.


Health, Arts and Design - The Faculty of Health, Arts and Design comprises the School of Health Sciences, the School of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities and the School of Design, and associated research centers.

Business and Enterprise - The Faculty of Business and Enterprise comprises the Swinburne Business School and associated research centers.

Why choose Swinburne, Swinburne’s aim is to get you closer to starting a successful career. It concentrates on an education that prepares you for work, to excel and grow.

City - Hawthorn

State - Victoria

Climate – 11oC – 35oC

Living cost


More information regarding Living costs

- http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/city_result.jsp?country=Australia&city=sydney